Leadership      Membership      Mission      History 

On March 28, 2015, faculty governance leaders from nine of the Pac-­‐12 conference institutions met at Washington State University. During this weekend meeting, the faculty governance leaders and associated staff members met to solidify the existence of the PAC 12 Academic Leadership Coalition (P12ALC).  The formation of the P12ALC creates both a collaborative organization and a professional network via the faculty governance leaders and the associated staff at each of the member institutions.

Through collaboration, innovation and the exchange of information, the P12ALC members hope to both enhance the shared governance processes on their own campuses and be innovation leaders in the pursuit of future academic collaborations.  Similar organizations preceding the P12ALC are the robust Committee on Institutional Cooperation [CIC}, which represents 15 research institutions in the Northeast and Midwest, and the SECU, which is a similar academic coalition located within the Southeastern Conference.

The P12ALC is the first organization of its kind west of the Mississippi, and the only organization currently developed through faculty initiative. The members of the P12ALC are motivated to not only work with one another, but also with the Presidents and Provosts at each of the member institutions.  As voted on by all members, the organizational mission is as follows:


The mission of the PAC 12 Academic Leadership Coalition is to improve the effectiveness and responsiveness of each member school’s shared governance organization; and where commonalities occur, to facilitate academic and research cooperation that is jointly beneficial to participating institutions.

 Founding Members

Arizona State University                        University of Arizona                           University of Colorado Boulder
Oregon State University                         University of Oregon                           University of Southern California
University of Utah                                  Washington State University               University of Washington

PAC 12 Academic Leadership Coalition Officers

Robert Kyr, Philip H. Knight Professor of Music, University of Oregon.
Questions regarding the P12ALC should be sent to Professor Kyr at rkyr@uoregon.edu

Vice President
Kate O’Neill, Professor of Law, University of Washington.

Executive Director
Charles Barbee, Director-­‐Office of the University Senate, Arizona State University.

Vicki Nunnemaker, Special Assistant to the Faculty Senate President, Oregon State University.


Bylaws:  Click Here                   History:  Click Here              Website Homepage:  Click Here